Weekly Wishes #20 // June

20140602-211037-76237315.jpg

Another month gone! May was very good to me. It was a month of traveling and exploring and enjoying things outside of my office after a very long busy season. I’m happy to say June will be more of some of the same. Here is my goal recap from last week as well as a list of goals for June. I’m not going to recap my May goals because I pretty much failed all around. I have a problem of forgetting my monthly goals since I’m focusing on my weekly goals. I need to make them match up a little bit more to help with that.

Last Week

1. Read most (if not all) of Someday, Someday, Maybe as my next book in the summer reading challengeI just have a few pages left!

2. Organize and edit vacation photos. I’ve finally figured out a photo organization system (somewhat). Our trip photos are almost all organized, but I need to edit still.

3. Clean/organize the top of our dresser. The dresser is cleared! It’s so nice to get that done.

June Goals

1. Read three books. This was a May goal that I actually accomplished, and I want to do it again!

2. Actually clean out my closet and get rid of clothes I no longer wear. This was both an April and a May goal that I kept forgetting about. Hopefully this is the last time I’ll be listing this as a goal!

3. Make a game plan for revamping my blog design and layout. It was always my plan to work on this in the summer, and I’ve started looking at templates already, but I really want to nail down what changes I want for the blog. Since we have some more traveling this month, I won’t plan to actually make the changes until July, but I want to do everything I need to do before actually making the change.

4. Create my April Project Life layout. I caught up through March last weekend! It was so much fun and reminded me why I wanted to do Project Life in the first place. I’m even throwing around the idea of creating a separate album just for our recent trip to Europe, but we will see!

5. Organize my blog feed. The number of blogs I follow on Bloglovin’ has gotten out of hand. I want to delete the blogs I no longer read and organize the rest into categories such as Daily Reads, Organization, Beauty, etc.

Weekly Wishes is a link-up hosted by The Nectar Collective.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wishes #20 // June

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wishes #2: June Goals | travelin' 20somethin'

  2. We really do have very similar goals! I am trying to work on redesigning my blog at the moment, too. It feels like such a big, daunting project, but it’s something I really want to do myself.

    Also, I think “Someday, Someday, Maybe” is going to be the next book I read after I finish HP3. I absolutely adore Lauren Graham, so I think it’s imperative for me to read her novel. What do you think of it?

    I can’t even express to you how badly I need to organize all of my photos. They’re basically in one large, virtual pile right now, & it’s driving me crazy. If you don’t mind sharing, how are you organizing yours? Are you archiving them online or on your hard drive? Or an external hard drive? I’m considering archiving mine online through Flickr or Photobucket, then also storing them on our external hard drive. Help!

    • Someday, Someday, Maybe is really enjoyable! It is definitely not a deep read, and I actually did not start loving it until about a third of the way in, but then I was hooked! I love Lauren Graham as well, and you can really hear her voice come through the text. She writes very similarly to the way that she acts, so I think you will like it.

      For photo organization, I still don’t really have a great plan, but I’ve made them a bit more organized. I use Dropbox online to store them. I bought more space so that I could store all of my pictures from way back when I first starting taking them on a digital camera (maybe 10 years ago?). Then, once I dumped everything into Dropbox that I had stored on my old computer, I set it up so that my DropBox account syncs with all pictures I take on my phone (I don’t have a nicer camera so I just use my 5s for a camera currently). Then, I try to go in once a week or so to delete any pictures I don’t want and sort the photos from the week into albums on Dropbox. I created albums by month (e.g. 2014 05 May – General) with special albums for bigger events or vacations (2014 05 May – London). Now, what I can’t figure out is the best way to edit my photos because once they sync into Dropbox from my phone, I have to download it onto my iPad, edit them, and then put it back into Dropbox where I will have both the edited and un-edited version of my photo, so I have to either delete every unedited version myself or just have two versions. This is what I was trying to figure out over the weekend, and I was pretty annoyed that there wasn’t a solution to this problem.

      I know that was a lot…. But hopefully it helps you some!

  3. I went through and organized my Bloglovin’ feed about a month ago and it was really nice! All of my daily reads used to get lost in the mix, but now I can read those first. It’s also nice to be able to go through my beauty list, since they post throughout the day. I don’t always read the posts I’m interested in right away, but I can mark the ones that I’m not interested in as read so that they don’t add to the number of unread posts in my feed. :) I also cleared out my clothing last month and I felt so much better when I was done! I felt lighter and it was easier to find clothes to wear after I did that. I was inspired by this blog: http://www.un-fancy.com/.

    Good luck with your goals this month! And you should totally do a separate album for your European vacation. I have a scrapbook of my Africa trip and I don’t look at it often anymore, but it’s always a special album to pull out. :)

  4. The Semi-Charmed Summer Reading Challenge sounds like lots of fun. I love to read, but haven’t read as much as I would have liked in the last few months. I’m definitely going to get more familiar with that. Kudos for accomplishing your goals last week!

    I wish you all the best in accomplishing your goals for June!

  5. one thing you might want to try is taking some clothes from your closet and putting them in “time out” for a few months. I did this a while ago because the thought of throwing out so much at once was stressful. they went into a suitcase and storage [where I could pull out anything I decided I needed] and then whatever you didn’t use gets pitched/donated. good luck! hopping over from TNC.

Thoughts, Questions, Suggestions? Leave them here! I would love to hear from you!

